Begin typing to search and press enter.
×
Newsletter sign up:
Technē Architecture
+ Interior Design
Level 2, 43 Hardware Lane
Melbourne 3000 Australia

About
About

TECHNE

TO MAKE,
POETICALLY.

Read the Story

Technē – to make, poetically.

An ancient Greek word that provides a philosophical standpoint to the work that Technè creates. Demanding clear and conscious thinking, ‘to be poetic’ stands Technè apart from other practices. Consideration is given to the ‘art’ in the work, imbuing each project with thoughtful creativity.
 

 

 

Technē Architecture and Interior Design works across residential, commercial, hospitality, and retail projects, creating bespoke spaces that enrich the human experience.

Technē’s work is informed by elements of art, engineering, environment, sustainability, and economics to form empathetic and cohesive spaces. The studio strives to achieve a rare duality between creative form and commercial viability.

Founded in 2002, Technē’s layered and textured designs have contributed to Australia’s modern design aesthetic, elevating its architectural expression onto the international design stage.

“Our studio is emerging as a leading design practice, with a recognisable individuality and voice.” – Nick Travers, director

The team works collaboratively under the guidance of co-founders and directors, Nick Travers and Justin Northrop whose open nature and delivery of commercial outcomes inspires every design.

At the core of Technē’s approach is innovative thinking that gives vibrancy and form to their designs. Technē is unique in its equally balanced and fully integrated architecture and interior design process, with each discipline informing the other for the duration of a project.

The studio’s poetic ambitions are channelled through the directors’ practical sensibilities into authentic and honest outcomes, crafting architecture you can feel.

“It is our challenge to create thoughtful, sustainable spaces that will stand the test of time.” – Justin Northrop, director

A Technē project is robust, playful and hardworking, with all design elements contributory and purposeful. The studio creates moments reflective of their time with an enduring legacy for the future.

Nick and Justin,
the directors

 

Directors Justin Northrop and Nick Travers came together through a shared vision of creating beautiful spaces that work hard for their clients’ vision. Almost two decades later, the strength of their partnership guides the Technē team.

 

 

 

Nick Travers 
B. Arch. St., B. Arch (Hons)

nick@techne.com.au

Nick Travers is driven to innovate and meet challenges head on. Nick thrives on the complexity of the architect’s role, and is stimulated by a thorough discourse around the philosophical and practical elements of his discipline. Through sharp examination he decisively pushes Technē to reach the highest possible level for his team, partners, and clients.

In his role as Technē director, Nick knows the best design occurs when ideas are challenged and shaped collaboratively. Over Technē’s 15 years, this belief has formed the cornerstone of the studio’s culture and is evident in each project.

The emotional content and high technical ability of great musicians, and the experience of live theatre provide inspiration for Nick’s work. The disruptive nature of technology and the beauty of flowing form making that is found in automotive design are a personal passion. This convergence of the real and digital world fascinates him as the major agents of current technological advancement.

Nick gained experience from Melbourne to Berlin before founding Technē with Justin. His starting point for projects is free hand drawings that give form to his thoughts, functioning as a source of inspiration. This unguarded approach is balanced with a pragmatic attention to detail that promises each moment in a project timeline is handled with dedication.

“Architects have to dream, we have to search for our Atlantises, to be explorers, adventurous, and yet to build responsibly and well.” – Renzo Piano

Justin Northrop
B.PD, B.Arch. (Hons)

justin@techne.com.au

Justin Northrop believes architecture must have a sense of equilibrium – compositional and proportional, budgetary and functional balance. It is his philosophy that every space be well designed, fit for purpose, and enjoyed by the people who inhabit it.

After establishing his career in Melbourne, Justin founded the Technē studio with Nick Travers in 2002. As director, Justin guides the team to approach design challenges from all angles. Justin’s diplomatic mind and quiet determination are complemented by his collaborative approach and the shared sense of achievement that comes from a finished project.

An initial aspiration to be a chef evolved into a motivation to create the physical forms where people enjoy each other’s company. Justin’s connection to hospitality has driven the studio’s achievements in this sphere.

A builder and a maker, Justin has an innate sense of how things go together. Growing up, he spent time on building sites with his father, a structural engineer, who taught Justin the innate logic of materials. His artistic sensibility grew from hours spent drawing with his grandfather, a naturalist and a painter.

Justin’s early experiences set the foundation of his desire to work with his hands and design tangible experiences that make people happy. These connections resonate throughout his practice today.

The Team

The Technē studio is made up of a diverse team of individuals,
passions, and leaders. Working closely with each other and their
clients, the team deliver each project with dedicated professionalism
and a unique design expression.

 

"Nurturing a professional and social environment is important to the Technē culture."

Steve McKeag

Senior Associate

B.Arch

steve@techne.com.au

"Client relationships are based on trust, guidance and professionalism, all of which are inherent to the Technē culture."

Gabriella Gulacsi

Senior Associate

BA Interior Design (Hons) UniSA

gabi@techne.com.au

"Our point of difference is the attention to detail paid to each project, no element is overlooked or unconsidered."

Jonny Mitchell

Senior Interior Designer

B.A. Design (Hons), AdvDip Elec. Eng. (Lighting Design)

jonny@techne.com.au

“It’s not about just performing, but designing the stage for the performance. It’s about responsive and opinionated architecture.”

Joshua Amsellem

Senior Design Architect

B.Arch (Hons) Dip. Arch

joshua@techne.com.au

"We are passionate about crafting contemporary, classic spaces that contribute to tangible business outcomes."

Dana Hutchins

Senior Interior Designer

Dip.Interior Design, B.Comm

dana@techne.com.au

"A great building must begin with the unmeasurable, must go through measurable means when it is being designed and in the end must be unmeasurable." - Louis Kahn

Eng Law

Senior Architect

B.Arch (Hons)

eng@techne.com.au

"A Technē project harmoniously balances purpose and form."

Fatma Seker

Senior Architect

B.Arch

fatma@techne.com.au

"Together, our team create beautiful, proportioned, simple and soulful designs created with respect."

David Spaccatore

Senior Interior Designer

B.Tech (Industrial Design)

david@techne.com.au

"The details are not the details, they make the design."

Sarah Wolfendale

Senior Interior Designer

B.Interior Architecture

sarah@techne.com.au

"Great design relies on the creation of working, breathing spaces that positively benefit users."

Helen Walsh

Senior Interior Designer

B.Design (Interior Design) (Hons)

helen@techne.com.au

"The opportunity to create a new interior environment is a great honour and always full of exciting challenges and possibilities."

Anja Grant

Senior Interior Designer

B.Interior Arch (Hons)

anja@techne.com.au

“I prefer drawing to talking. Drawing is faster and leaves less room for lies” - Le Corbusier

Lidia Brugnaro

Senior Interior Design Draftsperson

Assoc. Dip. Architectural Drafting

lidia@techne.com.au

"If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything."

Giles Freeman

Architect

B.Arch, B.Comn

giles@techne.com.au

"At Technē, we are encouraged to draw inspiration from our personal passions and channel this into our projects."

Karina Piper

Architect

M.Arch, B.Arch

karina@techne.com.au

"Simplicity is the foundation of all great design."

Francois Claassens

Senior Draftsperson

Dip.Arch (Drafting)

francois@techne.com.au

"Working through the technical aspects of a project is what drives our team."

Melita Kei

Senior Draftsperson

Dip.Arch (Drafting)

melita@techne.com.au

"Creating texture and spatial experiences is core to the studio’s design principles."

Kate Archibald

Interior Designer

B.Design (Interior Design) (Hons), B.A (Jewellery Design)

kate@techne.com.au

"It takes more than design to make a space work, Technē collaborates with all facets of a project to achieve a functional & aesthetic outcome."

Bianca Baldi

Interior Designer

B.Design (Interior Design)

bianca@techne.com.au

"Bold design responds to and enhances its site, environment and purpose."

Thandi Stirling

Graduate of Architecture

M.Arch, B.Arch

thandi@techne.com.au

“In its purest form, architecture isn’t overly complex. Often a series of simple and informed design moves is what engenders architectural richness.”

Matthew Chai

Graduate of Architecture

B.Envs, M.Arch

matthew@techne.com.au

"Design should present us with possibilities beyond what we unconsciously accept as prerequisite."

Natalie Iannello

Graduate Interior Designer

B.Interior Architecture (Hons)

natalie@techne.com.au

“Do not seek praise. Seek criticism.” – Paul Arden

Anna Howkins

Graduate Interior Designer

B.Interior Architecture (Hons)

anna@techne.com.au

"Effective architecture responds to and reflects its surroundings to create a sense of place."

Sam Mofflin

Graduate of Architecture

B.Envs, M.Arch, B.Arch

sam@techne.com.au

I surround myself with design and architecture, investigate the way it works, the way it can influence emotion, enhance space and create experiences.

Brad Mitchell

Student Architect

B.Arch (Interior) (Hons1), B.Arch Design (Dist)

brad@techne.com.au

"Behind every successful project is a masterful balance of time, simplicity and innovation."

Ruby Maddison

Student Interior Designer

Associate Degree in Interior Design

ruby@techne.com.au

Annika Lammers

Student Architect

annika@techne.com.au

"Without collaboration our growth is limited to our own perspectives."

Nicole de Groot

Practice Manager

nicole@techne.com.au

"Long-term client relationships, in the mix of bespoke accents & versatile communications."

Danielle Janakiovski

Receptionist

danielle@techne.com.au

"Seamlessly managing commercial outcomes with creativity is what sets the Technē team apart."

Fiona Grey

Finance Manager

Cert. IV - Financial Services (Bookkeeping)